View Issue Details

IDProjectCategoryView StatusLast Update
0002260OXID eShop (all versions)1.03. Basket, checkout processpublic2015-12-01 09:29
Reporterbirute_meilutyte 
PrioritynormalSeverityfeatureReproducibilityalways
Status assignedResolutionopen 
Product Version4.4.5 revision 31315 
Target VersionFixed in Version 
Summary0002260: Previously saved order should be merged with the newly started order with special logic
DescriptionWhen user has some products in the basket saved from the previous time (not finished order) and now also makes the new order, eshop should do:

1. Display the question "You still have some products stored in basket from previous visit. Do you want to merge this order with current order?" (options: Yes/No).
a) if user clicks "No" - then old order is deleted from DB and user proceeds only with the currently started order.
b) if user clicks "Yes" - then old order is merged with the currently started order using further logic:
- if user adds to basket the same products as previously - the amount of that particular product should be taken only from the current order (the amount of product in previous basket is ignored).
- The different products from previous order and current order should be included into the current basket.
- Products, which were included in old basket, but now does not exists in eshop or are not active - should be ignored (not shown in order anyway).
Example:
If at first order user tried to order (amount x product):
1xA
2xB
3xC
1xD
and now he tries to order:
1xB
4xE
(when D product does not exists in eShop or is not active).
In the current basket should be included:
1xA
1xB
3xC
4xE.

2. Question #1 should pop-up only in cases, when customer has started new order (freshly put some products to basket) and only then logins to eshop (then eShop checks, that there is also Old order stored for this customer, which probably can be merged.
In cases, when at first - customer logs into eShop (then the previously stored basket is already shown) and only then adds new products to basket - merging is not needed. By default shop just threats this basket as current and adds new products to it as usual.

3. When question #1 is asked, and user answered:
a) if user is not in order process yet (i.e. loged into eShop from any other page), then eShop keeps user in the same page;
b) if user is in order process (loged into eShop at 2nd order step) - eShop should direct user to 1st order step (with already merged orders) and display the red warning "List of products in your basket changed. Please check".
TagsBasket
ThemeNot defined
BrowserAll
PHP VersionNot defined
MySQL VersionNot defined

Relationships

related to 0005771 resolvedHR Previous users cart details are shown to another user 

Activities

ralf_trapp

2010-12-13 15:24

reporter   ~0003808

confirmed for beta

Linas Kukulskis

2010-12-15 16:48

reporter   ~0003820

The amount is not reseted the amounts of article was merged.

Situation:
if we have an article in users basket, and put the same article into basket while aren't logged in. After login in checkout's first step: baskets are merged and if article is the same puts the amount from basket, that was save when user was logged in.

The best solution might be:
If the basket is not empty when user are not logged in, on login empty history of the basket ant leave only new one articles.
If the basket is empty when user are not logged in, after login show history of the basket.

dainius.bigelis

2010-12-17 15:18

reporter   ~0003847

Need to discuss about most fitting solution for this case.

dainius.bigelis

2011-03-31 08:43

reporter   ~0004273

Description updated with decided solution.

tjungcl

2011-05-09 14:46

reporter   ~0004516

Last edited: 2011-05-09 14:48

View 2 revisions

about the merging of loaded and actual basket:

This causes usability problems, because the basket content is invisibly modified when logging in in step2. So the user has to notice the change in products when he is in step 4. Because nobody would expect that products are miraculary added to the basket, most users will control only the address in step 4.

This can very easily happen, if the shop sells many similar objects that are bought in big numbers like, lets say, vegetable seeds.

Its very hard to notice when such baskets are mixed. The user might have spent a lot of time to compose the exakt actual basket und with logging in all his work is spoiled.

dainius.bigelis

2011-06-22 16:15

reporter   ~0004758

Reminder sent to: tjungcl

So, if user makes an order, logs to 2nd order step and shop merges the stuff from "old" order at that moment, the clear warning message should be displayed for user, about merged baskets.
Would it be clear enough?

tjungcl

2011-06-22 16:25

reporter   ~0004759

Not quite. A warning would help, but the actual basket is spoiled nevertheless.

Imagine you save a new file to your hard disc. When doing that, the editor prompts the following warning:

"Warning: A file with the same name already exists. So the existing and the new file are now merged together, mixing lines of each file in random order.
=> OK".

Wouldnt you prefer to have a "CANCEL" button in such a case?

=> So the user should be asked, if he wants to merge his basket with the old order or not.

dainius.bigelis

2011-06-23 14:37

reporter   ~0004763

Reminder sent to: tjungcl

Yes, asking customer is a good idea :)
Anyway, looks like concept for that should be considered once again. Let's continue discussion in dev-general.

dainius.bigelis

2012-04-11 19:56

reporter   ~0006232

After some discussions we took the decision that baskets should be merged with specific logic and proper warnings should be displayed in special cases.
I updated description according to decision and needed to implement changes.

svetlana

2014-03-28 10:01

reporter   ~0009714

waiting for the PO decision.